Katabasia

For now, I am exploring a relationship with Dionysus and his retinue, especially as He appears in The Thiasos of the Starry Bull.  In an effort to better understand some of his aspects, I’ve decided to low-key celebrate some of his festivals.  Last Thursday (10/27/16) was the Katabasia, commemoration of Dionysus’ decent into the underworld to bring up his mother Semele.  Sharing his divinity with her, she becomes a goddess.

Since I’m aiming for low-key right now, so I didn’t do much.  I took a cleansing bath, dressed in the black dress I wore to my grandmother’s funeral.  I had set up the altar before hand, so it was mostly ready to go when I came down stairs.  I played some music while I read some hymn and poems to Dionysus and Semele.  I lit a candle for the occasion and some incense,  I offered wine (Apothic Inferno), mead (Charm City Rosemary mead- rosemary chosen because Semele is the grand daughter of Aphrodite), milk, and honey.  I’m not sure that if the wine and mead were well received or not, but I probably won’t be using them again.  Just a feeling.   The rosemary mead especially (unless the I get a big sign that They loved it)- the smell alone was off putting.  Taking a sip almost ended the ritual because of almost puking.  So, yeah.  I took a moment and moved on from that.  I prayed and danced and drank wine for a while, then sat in contemplation of Dionysus, Semele, and the myths involving Dionysus’s birth and Semele’s death.  I have a mental picture of how I’d like to try to paint a statue of Her, so I’ll be thrifting around to find one that works (I’m just starting to try art, making a sculpture is too advanced for me right now).

So anyway, I wasn’t particularly feeling as connected as I wanted to be feeling, so I went on walk around the block.  It was probably about 12:15 AM, and I live in a decent area so it was no big deal.  While I was walking, nothing much happened except I kept smelling some kind of flower, I think.  It was overpoweringly strong.  Kind of like honey suckle, but not quite.  I looked around for the source, tried to follow my nose, etc., but came up with nothing.

I got home and prayed a little more and ended the festivities.  No big revelations, and nothing  really interesting to report, but I’m glad I did it.  I’m really trying to focus on easing in, building up kharis with these Gods that have been pulling me towards them.  Hail Dionysus!  Hail Semele!

Leave a Reply

